How do I disable the remember the password feature?

Question

I inadvertently checked the box to have Windows save user name and password at a particular website. I'd like to disable that. Better would be to delete the password file. How do I do that in XP?

Thank you

Answer

This question was answered on January 29, 2004. Much of the information contained herein may have changed since posting.

Go back to the website When the user login box shows, uncheck the feature to save or remember user name and password.

You can also right click the start button and click on explore.

Then scroll down to "Cookies" files in the left window.

Click on it Then in the right window, under the Cookies file, delete all notepad files

EXCEPT INDEX.DAT.

This will also allow you to remove any password info.

Need Help with this Issue?

We help people with technology! It's what we do.
Schedule an Appointment with a location for help!

Author

Posted by Student of Katharine Gibbs School - New York on January 29, 2004