Disable WinXP user accounts instead of deleting them!

Question

Disable WinXP user accounts instead of deleting them!

Answer

This question was answered on May 21, 2004. Much of the information contained herein may have changed since posting.

If you have a user account on your PC that won't be used for a long period of time, you don't have to delete the account as a security precaution Re-creating the account later with the same name won't gaurantee the same permissions or allow access to their encrypted files You can disable the account instead of deleting it altogether by following the steps below.

Follow the steps below:

1 Press Windows-R (The key with the Windows logo & the letter R open the run dialog box)

2 Type 'lusrmgr.msc' into the field and press Enter

3 Click the Users folder icon and then double-click the name of the user account

4 Check Account is disabled

5 Click OK

*To restore the account, simply uncheck this box

Note:This procedure doesn't work in XP Home.

The account is now disabled but you still have access to all the files if you want to enable it at a later date

Need Help with this Issue?

We help people with technology! It's what we do.
Schedule an Appointment with a location for help!

Author

Posted by Michal of Data Doctors on May 21, 2004