The empty user Logon Dialog Box continues to appear. How do I get rid of it?

Question

I used the computer to logon on the Company Net.

Now the computer is outside of the Net and does not need to logon, so I deleted the User.

The empty user Logon Dialog Box continues to appear.

How can I get rid of it?

Answer

This question was answered on November 29, 2004. Much of the information contained herein may have changed since posting.

In DOS:

At the prompt, enter:

del *.pwl

("del space star dot pwl" without the quotes)

Hit return

On the next start-up, don't fill in anything

It won't bother you again...

Need Help with this Issue?

We help people with technology! It's what we do.
Schedule an Appointment with a location for help!

Author

Posted by Michael of Katharine Gibbs School - New York on November 29, 2004