Beware of the HOTMAIL e-mail trick message!

Question

Is HOTMAIL shuting down accounts that do not resond to a message that they are sending out?

-Rich

Answer

This question was answered on August 21, 2000. Much of the information contained herein may have changed since posting.

Microsoft's free Web based e-mail system "HOTMAIL" (www.hotmail.com) does have a policy of shutting down inactive accounts, but they will not send an e-mail message in order to have you verify that you are using your account The people being this message are actually "SPAMMERS" or junk e-mail merchants that are attempting to get you to verify your address so that they can continue to send you junk messages If you receive the following message, DO NOT REPLY TO IT:

====================================================================

Dear Hotmail User,

Because of the sudden rush of people signing up to Hotmail, it has come to our attention that we are vastly running out of resources So, within a month's time, anyone who does not receive this email with the exact subject heading, will be deleted off our server

Please forward this email so that we know you are still using this account

WARNING WARNING

Hotmail is overloading and we need to get rid of some people and we want to find out which users are actually using their Hotmail accounts So if you are using your account, please pass this e-mail to every Hotmail user that you can and if you do not pass this letter to anyone we will delete your account

From Mr Jon Henerd

Hotmail Admin Dept

====================================================================

THIS MESSAGE IS A HOAX! Hotmail's policy on inactive accounts is as follows:

-Accounts that have not been accessed for 60 days become dormant; stored e-mail will be deleted, and inbound mail will be refused Your account can be reactivated by going back to www.hotmail.com and logging in.

-Accounts that have not been used for over 1 year may be deleted

HOTMAIL can see if an account is active by simply checking the last time that you accessed the account, therefore, you will never be asked via an e-mail message to verify that your account is valid.

DON'T FALL FOR THIS TRICK THAT SPAMMERS USE ON ALL MAJOR E-MAIL SYSTEMS, including JUNO, AOL, MSN, COMPUSERVE, PRODIGY, etc.

Need Help with this Issue?

We help people with technology! It's what we do.
Schedule an Appointment with a location for help!

Author

Posted by Ken of Data Doctors on August 21, 2000