Version Conflict Manager, what is it good for?

Question

Sometimes when you install new drivers or software, a dialog box pops up saying "the current version of file x is newer than the one you are copying. Do you want to keep your existing file?" My question is do you answer "YES" or "NO" to this? Also, if you do say "NO" and overwrite the current (newer) file with the older one, is there a way to undo it?

Answer

This question was answered on March 9, 2001. Much of the information contained herein may have changed since posting.

This is one of the most common questions asked about installing software or upgrading drivers.

That dialog box is generated by an application called 'Version Conflict Manager' or VCM for short This application manages version conflicts by first asking you which version to use and secondly, if you say "NO" and overwrite the newer file it logs it and makes a backup copy of the file.

First of all, the rule is to keep the existing newer version of the file, so the answer would be "YES" to that dialog box There is one minor exception to this rule.. Anytime you are dealing with networking drivers/files, (you changed/added clients/protocols in networking properties applet or installed network adapter drivers)the only files you answer "YES" to are secure32.xxx and any file starting with rna*.xxx All other prompts are answered "NO", do not keep newer version, overwrite it with the one you are installing The reason for this??? If you find out let me know, I just do what the knowledge base tells me and I know from experience that it works...

If you did purposely or accidently overwrite a newer file and are now having trouble or just want to 'undo' it, you must have Windows98 or 98SE (not Me) and be able to get to the desktop (safe mode ok) Click on 'START','run', and type 'msinfo32' and hit enter You will see a 'tools' button on the menu bar, click this and on the dropdown menu select 'Version Conflict manager' Windows will now display a window that shows all currently backed up files and versions that have been replaced with different versions There are two columns, 'backed-up' and 'current' The general rule here is to select (by ctrl-clicking) all 'backed-up' files that have newer versions than the 'current' version Once they are all selected, click on "restore files" Once it finishes, reboot the system (whether you are prompted to or not).

Need Help with this Issue?

We help people with technology! It's what we do.
Schedule an Appointment with a location for help!

Author

Posted by Brian of Data Doctors on March 9, 2001