How can I erase a previous user's history?

Question

I have purchased this computer from the original owner. It seems as though he and I have some similar interests. When I log onto a site that he has previously browsed, it is assuming that I am him. For instance, Matchmaker.com offers a trial membership. I applied, but the site responded that there was already an active user. I am obviously using a completely different login and password.. so how do I erase the previous users history?

Answer

This question was answered on May 7, 2002. Much of the information contained herein may have changed since posting.

There are at least two ways to erase the past user's history The first option is the easiest You delete the cookies and temporary internet files that are currently being stored on your computer

Open up Internet Explorer and go to Tools, select Internet Options, Settings, View Files Then select all of the files in the "Temporary Internet Files" folder and click "delete" It will ask you if you are sure Say "yes" This will erase most of them for you The next step would be to do a search for "cookies" and go into each folder and delete the files inside, be sure not to delete the actual folder called "cookies"

The second (and more difficult) option is to completely reinstall your operating system This would allow you to start your entire system from scratch

Need Help with this Issue?

We help people with technology! It's what we do.
Schedule an Appointment with a location for help!

Author

Posted by Jeff of Chandler-Gilbert Community College on May 7, 2002