Why you should do a system restore?

Question

I inadvertently tried to upgrade zonelabs version 3.1.291 while it was running. The result is it did not upgrade, and I cannot delete the old one in order to re-install the new version. If I try to uninstall, using either the add/remove or Zonerlabs uninstall, it does not do it, but leaves the old one still running.

When I try to do an upgrade, it hangs on a place where it tells me some file cannot be found, or it says that an upgrade is already in prrogress, so some flag or something is set that makes Zonelabs think it is in the middle of an upgrade.

I would like to just completely uninstall, and then re-install the new version. Right now I have the protection of the old version but am "stuck" on 3.1.291, while not terrible, still limits me.

Any suggestions or help would be appreciated. I have thought of deleting the folders, leaving the registry alone, and trying to re-install...but that sounds "dangerous".

Answer

This question was answered on March 4, 2003. Much of the information contained herein may have changed since posting.

The best thing for you to do is what is called a launch system restore go to start ,run then type in MSCONFIG and there you will see a button that says Launch System Restore click on it and then follow the prompts and when you get to the calander try pick the day before you tryed to upgrade or close to then restart your computers Then try to reinstall.

Need Help with this Issue?

We help people with technology! It's what we do.
Schedule an Appointment with a location for help!

Author

Posted by linda of Katharine Gibbs School - New York on March 4, 2003