How do i keep the icons in their original place after running safe mode?

Question

on defrag it is suggested that it is run in safe mode.

that works fine... but on rebooting i have to rearrange my desktop. short of moving all the icons back to where they were ... how do i keep the icons in their original place after running safe mode?

thanks

chris

Answer

This question was answered on February 12, 2003. Much of the information contained herein may have changed since posting.

You can't .This behavior occurs because the desktop icon locations are stored in the Shelliconcache file This file is automatically deleted and re-created when you boot your computer into Safe mode

Need Help with this Issue?

We help people with technology! It's what we do.
Schedule an Appointment with a location for help!

Author

Posted by Ileen of Katharine Gibbs School - New York on February 12, 2003