How to stop the recycle bin confirmation message!

Question

How can I stop the confirmation message from coming up when I am deleting stuff?

Answer

This question was answered on March 27, 2003. Much of the information contained herein may have changed since posting.

When you delete items by moving them to the Recycle Bin, Windows displays a message confirming the deletion: “Are you sure you want to send 'FILENAME' to the Recycle Bin?” If you’re tired of clicking an answer to that question, you can configure Windows XP to skip the confirmation message whether or not you’re using the Recycle Bin

1 Right-click the Recycle Bin, and then click Properties

2 In the Recycle Bin Properties dialog box, clear the Display delete confirmation dialog check box, and then click OK

If you don’t want to use the Recycle Bin at all, in the Recycle Bin Properties dialog box, select the Do not move files to the Recycle Bin Remove files immediately when deleted check box.

Need Help with this Issue?

We help people with technology! It's what we do.
Schedule an Appointment with a location for help!

Author

Posted by Michal of Data Doctors on March 27, 2003