Would my music files be gone by deleting a P2P sharing program?

Question

In light of your recent article about the RIAA and P2P File Sharing, I wanted to know something. If I were to go to Add/Delete Programs and delete say...Morpheus for instance - would the music still remain on my hard drive for retreival whenever I wanted it in the future?

In other words would I only be Deleting the Program itself, or do the songs that were found thru it, and placed in the Morpheus shared folder, disappear also?

I tried Renaming the Morpheus folder, but I get an Error message that says something like...."Error Renaming - Cannot rename this file folder- Access denied'

Thank you.

Answer

This question was answered on July 25, 2003. Much of the information contained herein may have changed since posting.

SInce the music is downloaded on to the system yes it would still be there, these are just programs where u download from, the results save onto your computer, but to be sure you should save the music files another folder.

Need Help with this Issue?

We help people with technology! It's what we do.
Schedule an Appointment with a location for help!

Author

Posted by Student of Katharine Gibbs School - New York on July 25, 2003