Tech Tips for Non-Tech People!

Data Doctors Tech Tips | Ken Colburn & Brandon Disney
We give quick, one minute tech tips each weekday! Join us on a radio station near you as we talk tech. It's Tech Tips for Non-Tech People! You can post questions on our Facebook page anytime!

Original Air Date: Jul 19, 2019



Facebook Lockout Protection Tip




If you ever forget your Facebook password or worse yet, get locked out of your own account because of a hacker, today’s tip is for you!

Facebook created an option called ”Trusted Contacts" and it could save you a ton of hassle if you are ever locked out of your own account. 

The feature allows you to select three to five of your trusted contacts to help you recover your account.

The way it works is that when you notify Facebook that you’ve been locked out, they’ll send special codes to your friends to help you recover the account.

They designed it so that no single contact on your list can get in because you need three different codes to get back in, from three different contacts.

Anyone that has ever gone through the process of trying to recover a Facebook account that they got locked out of will tell you how much of a hassle it is.

The “Trusted Contacts” options is available through the Security and Login menu or follow the instructions posted here: http://bit.ly/2Y1HSvB

Feedback